posted by Anand

Hi there! Since this is my first post, let me start with some introductions. I’m Anand and I work on Windows Live Messenger as a Program Manager.

We’ve recently received reports that some of our favorite people using Windows Live Messenger have been unable to sign in! We hate hearing news like that, and of course we’ve been investigating the issue ever since this popped on the radar. 

For the people who are having trouble signing in, you might be saying to yourself “hey – everything was working just fine till a couple of days back and then all of a sudden Windows Live Messenger stopped signing me in! Ack! Now I’m getting this error – all I wanted to do was send a quick Instant Message, darn it!”

If this is happening, we expect you are using ZoneAlarm® from Zone Labs®. We are aware of the issue and are actively working with Zone Labs® to fix it!

Till then, MSN Web Messenger is an option that will allow you to send Instant Messages. No download required, just ensure you allow pop-ups when you navigate to the MSN Web Messenger site.

I will give you more update early next week. Have a nice weekend 🙂

[Update – October 11th] – I wanted to give you a quick update on this issue. We have been working with ZoneLabs® to get to the bottom of this issue. The problem has been identified and a fix is in the works. I will post another update later in the week.

 

[Update – October 20th] – This issue has been fixed by ZoneLabs®. Please install the latest updates for ZoneAlarm® by clicking ‘Check for updates’.  I apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience. Thanks!

If you have a comment/question/concern/discussion topic/rant/rave/other – please head over to the Windows Live Messenger Newsgroup.